Home » Exhibitions » Current Exhibitions » American Masonic Presidents

American Masonic Presidents

Washington as a Freemason, 1870. Strobridge and Co, Cincinnati, Ohio. Special Acquisitions Fund, 78.74.18.

Warren G. Harding, 1923. Library of Congress, National Photo Company Collection, LC-USZ62-96484. 

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Inaugural Medal, 1933. Paul Manship (1885-1966), United States Mint, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Loaned by the Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts, GL2004.4206.

American Masonic Presidents

Ongoing in Travis Hall

On September 23, 1793, President George Washington (1732-1799) presided over the Masonic cornerstone laying ceremony at the new United States Capitol. His participation in the cerem ony illustrates the longstanding connection between Freemasonry and the leaders of American society and civic life.

Washington was one of fourteen presidents who were Freemasons. They are listed below. These men all received the Master Mason degree, the final step to becoming a Freemason. Whether drawn to the tenets of Freemasonry or continuing a tradition of Freemasonry in their family, these men took pride in their association to the fraternity. In this exhibition, consisting of two cases in the Scottish Rite Masonic Museum & Library’s Travis Hall, we highlight their Masonic connections and share souvenirs and other items that reflect their relationship with Freemasonry.

Masonic U.S. Presidents

George Washington (1732-1799)
1st President
Presidential Term:  1789-1797

James Monroe (1758-1831)
5th President
Presidential Term: 1817-1825

Andrew Jackson (1767-1845)
7th President
Presidential Term: 1829-1837

James K. Polk (1795-1849)
11th President
Presidential Term: 1845-1849

James Buchanan (1791-1868)
15th President
Presidential Term: 1857-1861

Andrew Johnson (1808-1875)
17th President
Presidential Term: 1865-1869

James Garfield (1831-1881)
20th President
Presidential Term: 1881

William McKinley (1843-1901)
25th President
Presidential Term: 1897-1901

Theodore Roosevelt (1858-1919)
26th President
Presidential Term: 1901-1909

William Howard Taft (1857-1930)
27th President
Presidential Term: 1909-1913

Warren G. Harding (1865-1923)
29th President
Presidential Term: 1921-1923

Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882-1945)
32nd President
Presidential term: 1933-1945

Harry S. Truman (1884-1972)
33rd President
Presidential term: 1945-1952

Gerald R. Ford (1931-2006)
38th President
Presidential term: 1974-1977